Worship Archive

Church Year 2020-2021

Easter, Ready or Not
Sunday, April 4, 2021

Readings: Mark 16:1-8; “For Jim, Easter Eve” by Alice Spencer

Pastoral Message: Rev. Jenny Rankin

ORDER OF SERVICE
WATCH NOW

Good Friday Service
Friday, April 2, 2021

Readings: Luke 22:14-23; Luke 22:47-53; Luke 23:44-49

Reflection: Sarah Klockowski

WATCH NOW

Palm Sunday: Talkin’ Bout a Revolution
Sunday, March 28, 2021

Readings: “The Poet Thinks about the Donkey” by Mary Oliver; Mark 11:1-11

Pastoral Message: Sarah Klockowski

ORDER OF SERVICE
DOWNLOAD MANUSCRIPT
WATCH NOW

Justice and also Joy
Sunday, March 21, 2021

Readings: Amos 5:24; Selections from Rev. Dr. Howard Thurman

Pastoral Message: Rev. Mary Margaret Earl

ORDER OF SERVICE
WATCH NOW

Farther Along
Sunday, March 14, 2021

Readings: Isaiah 43-44 selections; Luke 13:18-21

Pastoral Message: Rev. Jenny Rankin

ORDER OF SERVICE
WATCH NOW

Feeding Resilience
Sunday, March 7, 2021

Readings: “The Sourdough Microbiome” by Dr. Justine Dees; Luke 13:18-21

Homily: Sarah Andrysiak

ORDER OF SERVICE
WATCH NOW

The Map Our Dreaming Makes
Sunday, February 28, 2021

Readings: “Late February” by Barbara Crooker; Acts 2:17

Pastoral Message: Rev. Jenny Rankin

ORDER OF SERVICE
DOWNLOAD MANUSCRIPT
WATCH NOW

Testing in the Wilderness
Sunday, February 21, 2021

Readings: Mark 1:9-14; “The Grace of Bewilderment” by Rev. Rebecca Lyman

Pastoral Message: Rev. Jenny Rankin

ORDER OF SERVICE
WATCH NOW

Cultivating Beloved Community
Sunday, February 14, 2021

Readings: “The Role of the Church in Facing the Nation’s Chief Moral Dilemma” by MLK; Matthew 5:1-16

Pastoral Message: Sarah Klockowski

ORDER OF SERVICE
WATCH NOW

Playing Tag with God
Sunday, February 7, 2021

Readings: “Nature” by Ralph Waldo Emerson, Excerpts from “Parable of the Sower” by Octavia Butler

Pastoral Message: Margit Griffith and Sarah Klockowski

ORDER OF SERVICE
WATCH NOW

Hide and Seek with God
Sunday, January 31, 2021

Readings: The Spirit is Calling; Excerpts from Exodus 19 and 20

Pastoral Message: Rev. Jenny Rankin

ORDER OF SERVICE
DOWNLOAD MANUSCRIPT
WATCH NOW

We Unite for the Worship of God
Sunday, January 24, 2021

Readings: Exodus 3:1-15; “Reverence”

Pastoral Message: Rev. Jenny Rankin

ORDER OF SERVICE
DOWNLOAD MANUSCRIPT
WATCH NOW

We Unite in the Spirit of Jesus
Sunday, January 17, 2021

Readings: Excerpt from “The Christian Way of Life in Human Relations” by Martin Luther King, Jr; and Luke 4:16-30

Pastoral Message: Sarah Klockowski

ORDER OF SERVICE
WATCH NOW

We Unite in the Love of Truth
Sunday, January 10, 2021

Readings: James Baldwin; John 1

Pastoral Messages from Rev. Jenny Rankin and Sarah Klockowski

ORDER OF SERVICE
DOWNLOAD JENNY’S MESSAGE
DOWNLOAD SARAH’S MESSAGE
WATCH NOW

Epiphany Sunday
Sunday, January 3, 2021

Readings: Matthew 2:1-12, A Blessing for Those Who Have Long to Travel by Jan Richardson, and more!

ORDER OF SERVICE
WATCH NOW

Christmas Eve Service
Thursday, December 24, 2020

“The Stubborn Hope of Christmas”

Pastoral Message: Rev. Jenny Rankin

ORDER OF SERVICE
WATCH NOW

Pageant Sunday
Sunday, December 20, 2020

Readings: Luke 1:26-38

Worship Leader: Margit Griffith

ORDER OF SERVICE
WATCH NOW

When God Becomes Flesh
Sunday, December 13, 2020

Readings: Isaiah 61:1-11; John 1

Pastoral Message: Sarah Klockowski

ORDER OF SERVICE
WATCH NOW

A Close and Holy Darkness
Sunday, December 6, 2020

Readings: Isaiah 40:1-11; Poem by Stephanie Noble

Pastoral Message: Rev. Jenny Rankin

ORDER OF SERVICE
WATCH NOW

For Weary Watchers
Sunday, November 29, 2020

Readings: Mark 13:24-37; Isaiah 64:1-3, 8-12

Pastoral Message: Sarah Klockowski

ORDER OF SERVICE
DOWNLOAD MANUSCRIPT
WATCH NOW

Of Gifts and Gratitude
Sunday, November 22, 2020

Readings: “A Prayer for Thanksgiving” by Rev. Max Coots; Selection from Braiding Sweetgrass by Robin Wall Kimmerer

Pastoral Message: Rev. Jenny Rankin

ORDER OF SERVICE
WATCH NOW

Hope is Invented Every Day
Sunday, November 15, 2020

Readings: “Roots”, by Lucille Clifton; Isaiah 1:16-17; Selections from Eddie Glaude’s Begin Again (DOWNLOAD EXCERPT HERE)

Pastoral Message: Rev. Jenny Rankin

ORDER OF SERVICE
DOWNLOAD MANUSCRIPT
WATCH NOW

Into the Waters
Sunday, November 8, 2020

Readings: Isaiah 43:1-2, 4, 16-19, and Genesis 1:1-5

Pastoral Message: Sarah Klockowski

ORDER OF SERVICE
DOWNLOAD MANUSCRIPT
WATCH NOW

Standing on a Threshold, Seeking the Sacred
Sunday, November 1, 2020

Readings: A Poem by Robert Walsh; Hebrews 12:1-3

Time for All Ages: Child of Faerie
Written by Jane Yolen, and illustrated by Jane Dyer
CLICK HERE to hear Child of Faerie read by Kathleen T. Pelley on YouTube

Pastoral Message: Rev. Jenny Rankin

ORDER OF SERVICE
WATCH NOW

How is Your Heart?
Sunday, October 18, 2020

Readings: Frederick Buechner, selections; Philippians 4, selections

Pastoral Message: Rev. Jenny Rankin

ORDER OF SERVICE
DOWNLOAD MANUSCRIPT
WATCH NOW

Listening to God’s Heart in Nature
Sunday, October 4, 2020

Readings: “Time for Serenity, Anyone?” by William Stafford; “The Peace of Wild Things” by Wendell Berry

Pastoral Message: Rev. Jenny Rankin

ORDER OF SERVICE
DOWNLOAD MANUSCRIPT
WATCH NOW

Be of Good Courage
Sunday, September 27, 2020

Readings: “Wild Geese” by Mary Oliver; Philippians 2:1-2

Pastoral Message: Rev. Jenny Rankin

ORDER OF SERVICE
DOWNLOAD MANUSCRIPT
WATCH NOW

What We Need is Here
Sunday, September 20, 2020

Exodus 16:2-5, 12-15; “Only the Beginning” by Rabbi Rachel Barenblat

Pastoral Message: Rev. Jenny Rankin

ORDER OF SERVICE
DOWNLOAD MANUSCRIPT
WATCH NOW

A Living Sanctuary
Sunday, September 13, 2020

Readings: Joshua 4:19-24; 1 Peter 2:4-10

Pastoral Message: Sarah Klockowski

ORDER OF SERVICE
DOWNLOAD MANUSCRIPT

Previous Church Years